Cal men’s swimming and diving team wins second straight NCAA championship

Brenna Alexander/File

Related Posts

The Cal men’s swimming and diving team won its second consecutive NCAA championship on Saturday.

The Bears clinched the team title after teammates Will Hamilton and Tom Shields finished 1-2 in the 200 fly on Saturday. Cal outlasted second-place Texas, 535.5-491.

The Bears won six events and scored points in each of the tournament’s 18 swimming events, held Thursday through Saturday in Seattle, Wash. Shields won the 100 fly and 100 back, winning each event for the second time in his career. The junior was also a part of Cal’s winning 400 medley relay.

Sophomore Marcin Tarczynski (200 IM) and Cal’s 200 free relay also won events for the Bears.

The win firmly establishes Cal as the No. 1 program in collegiate swimming. The Cal women’s swimming and diving team also won its second straight national championship one week earlier.

The Cal men have now won four NCAA championships, two under head coach David Durden. The last program to win consecutive titles was Auburn, where Durden was an assistant coach on the 2003-05 championship squads.

Cal’s closest competitor was second-place Texas, whom Cal defeated at last year’s championships 493-470.5.

Shields was named swimmer of the meet, and Durden was named head coach of the meet.

More coverage to follow.