daily californian logo


Apply to The Daily Californian by September 8th!

Ceremony honors deceased UC Berkeley community members at campus memorial

article image



We're an independent student-run newspaper, and need your support to maintain our coverage.

SEPTEMBER 20, 2017

The annual campus memorial was held Monday to honor and remember UC Berkeley students, staff and faculty who died this past year.

The ceremony, open to the public, honored 80 faculty members, emeriti, graduate students and undergraduate students, according to a list published by UC Berkeley. Those coming to pay their respects toward lives lost gathered around the flagpole west of California Hall from noon to 1 p.m.

At the ceremony, Chancellor Carol Christ gave opening remarks, after which faculty and students read the names of those who had passed. Local student groups performed songs and poems in between readings of the names of the deceased. Attendees were also invited to place ribbons, flowers and personal tokens at the memorial site, according to the University Health Services or UHS, website.

Campus a capella group Drawn to Scale said it felt honored to join the ceremony, performing “Lay Me Down” by Sam Smith and “Give Me Love” by Ed Sheeran, according to business manager Kate Gibson.

“While we were singing, we felt extremely emotionally connected to the audience and were honored to share our music as a way to remember and cherish the lives of those who the ceremony was held for,” Gibson said in an email. “Overall, it was extremely moving and we send our love and warmest thoughts to the family members and other members of the campus community affected by the loss of those we sang for.”

The annual memorial is a tradition on campus, according to UHS.

“The ceremony symbolizes the care and support that distinguish the Berkeley community,” UHS’s website reads. “In coming together to remember and to honor the lives of the deceased, we reach out to our many colleagues and friends who have suffered loss, and we share in a universal human experience that touches us all.”

Notable honorees of the ceremony included Herma Hill Kay, who served as the first female dean of Berkeley Law from 1992 to 2000. Kay, who also co-authored the Uniform Marriage and Divorce Act in 1970, was described as “full of wisdom, grace and modesty” by UC Irvine law professor Bryant Garth in a previous interview with The Daily Californian.

Chief campus counsel Christopher M. Patti, who was killed in a fatal accident while bicycling, was honored as well. Colleagues such as Christ remembered Patti’s love for Berkeley and strong morals as his defining characteristics.

UC Berkeley School of Law student and veteran Nathan Berry was also honored. Berry, who would have graduated with the class of 2017, passed away after years of living with leukemia.

His mother, Linda Berry, said he was a determined, intellectual and devoted young man with many goals.

Christ concluded the ceremony with final remarks.

Academic & faculty honored:

Anthony Bliss, University Library

Jeffrey Hadler, South & Southeast Asian studies

John Hayes, integrative biology

Karl Hedrick, mechanical engineering

Herma Hill Kay, Berkeley Law

Leroy T. Kerth, physics

William Satariano, public health

Eric Thiel, UC Berkeley Graduate School of Education


Irma Adelman, agricultural & resource economics

Vitelmo Bertero, civil and environmental engineering

James Bosson, East Asian languages and cultures

Gene Brucker, history

Alan Cerf, Haas School of Business

David Chandler, chemistry

Kun Chang, East Asian languages and cultures

Paul Chernoff, mathematics and physical sciences

Nathan Cheung, electrical engineering and computer sciences

Ray Clough, civil and environmental engineering

Marian Diamond, integrative biology

Hubert Dreyfus, philosophy

Joseph Duggan, French and comparative literature

Jacob “Jack” Feldman, mathematics and statistics

Joseph Garbarino, Haas School of Business

Erwin Hahn, physics

Edward Halbach, Berkeley Law

John Hetland, Berkeley Law

James Hunt, civil and environmental engineering

David Keightley, social sciences and history

Ray Larson, information

John “Jack” Letiche, economics

Lawrence Lowery, education

Melvin “Bill” Maron, library and information studies

Arthur McCain, environmental science, policy and management

Kenneth Mei, electrical engineering and computer sciences

Anne L. Middleton, English

Bharati Mukherjee, English

Rollie J. Myers, chemistry

John T. Noonan, Berkeley Law

Marina Ratner, mathematics

Arthur Rosenfeld, physics

Jerome Sackman, civil and environmental engineering

Donald Sarason, mathematics and physical sciences

Jack Silver, mathematics and physical sciences

Olga Sorokina-Vasiliev, Slavic languages and literatures

Bernard Taper, journalism

Paul Thomas, political science

Ignacio Tinoco, chemistry

Neylan Anthony Vedros, public health

Harold Weaver, astronomy

Lotfi Zadeh, electrical engineering and computer sciences

Alex Zwerdling, English


Ana Arteaga, student centers

Pete Caragher, electrical engineering and computer sciences

Christopher Cianciarulo, student affairs division

William Edmands, public health

Barbara Hirschler, molecular biology and Virus Laboratory

Mary Howell, engineering

Henryk Kubica, library administration

Zandra LeDuff, facilities services

Jeanne Lew, Haas School of Business

Griffin Madden, Cal Performances

Jane Moorman, University Health Services

Christopher M. Patti, legal affairs

Judith Patton, University Health Services

Mary E. Sandhu, library services

Mary Slakey Howell, engineering

Benito Tan, University and Jepson Herbaria

Ricky Timms, facilities services

Max Withers, Berkeley Law

Graduate students:

Nathan Berry, Berkeley Law

Renato Puga Garcia, Berkeley Law

Undergraduate students:

Omar Al Sabbah, Haas School of Business

Ryan Broder, College of Letters and Science

Dzifa Esi Dugba, ethnic studies

Kourtney Logan, College of Letters and Science

Jennifer Morris, College of Letters and Science

Vanessa Plotkin, College of Letters and Science

Neng Thao, natural sciences

Kimberly Tze, College of Letters and Science

Stephen Wang, OPS research and management science

Contact Mary Kelly Ford at [email protected] and follow her on Twitter at @MaryKellyFord1.

SEPTEMBER 21, 2017