ASUC Judicial Council approves CalSERVE plea deal, certifies election results

Brian Bi/Staff

Related Posts

The ASUC Judicial Council met virtually Sunday to discuss the plea deal between the ASUC Elections Council and CalSERVE and to certify the election results from April.

According to Elections Prosecutor Kyle Ashworth, CalSERVE chair zaynab abdulqadir-morris approached the Elections Council before elections to ask for a preemptive plea deal of one censure for allegedly filing financial documents late. The plea deal was signed Wednesday and was approved at the meeting Sunday. CalSERVE pleaded no contest to the offense and received one censure for a class C charge.

The Judicial Council also unanimously approved all of last month’s election results after the Elections Council certified the results Friday. For the 2019-20 academic year, Amma Sarkodee-Adoo will officially serve as president, with Andy Theocharous as executive vice president, Varsha Sarveshwar as external affairs vice president, Nava Bearson as student advocate and Aastha Jha as academic affairs vice president. The ASUC Senate will officially be composed of 11 Student Action senators, four CalSERVE senators, four independent senators and one Students First senator.

The meeting Sunday was the last meeting of the Judicial Council until the next academic year begins in the fall.

Contact Katherine Finman at [email protected] and follow her on Twitter at @KateFinman_DC.