Cal’s Moffat, 3 others earn Pac-12 honors after stellar season

Karen Chow/File

Related Posts

Senior and women’s rowing star Dana Moffat was voted the Pac-12 Women’s Rowing Athlete of the Year Tuesday, among senior pair Sydney Payne and Charlotte Wesselmann and junior Juliane Faralisch, who earned All-Pac-12 honors after their exceptional performances on the varsity eight boat this season.

Moffat led this year’s varsity eight boat to an undefeated season and a first-place finish at the Pac-12 Rowing Championships at Lake Tacoma a week ago. The junior economics major recently won gold at the 2018 World Rowing Championships with the senior United States eight boat.

Payne, a member of the Canadian national team, shined just bright enough next to Moffat, as she earned her first conference honor in her Bears career. Wesselmann also earned her first conference honors in her last season with Cal.

Faralisch rounded out the lengthy list after earning a Pocock CRCA First Team All-America honor last season. The German athlete was also named Pac-12 Newcomer of the Year in 2017.

The defending champion Bears are determined to repeat at the 2019 NCAA Women’s Rowing Championships this weekend, continuing a six-year trend of top-two finishes.

Spencer Golanka covers softball. Contact him at [email protected]. Follow him on Twitter at @sgolanka.