Berkeley election results stay consistent amid updates in vote counts

Photo of The Lawrence voting center
Lisi Ludwig/File
While the District 3, 5 and 6 seats for Berkeley City Council were all won by their respective incumbent candidates, Terry Taplin defeated incumbent Cheryl Davila in the race for the District 2 seat.

Related Posts

As Alameda County finishes counting ballots, results from the 2020 general elections largely remain consistent with initial tallies.

Incumbent Jesse Arreguín won the race for Berkeley mayor with 62.97% of the vote, as of press time. Since his election in 2016, Arreguín, the youngest mayor Berkeley has seen in more than a century, has worked to preserve Berkeley’s affordable housing options. Arreguín defeated candidates Wayne Hsiung, Aidan Hill and Naomi Pete. Hsiung, Hill and Pete won 23.96%, 9.95% and 2.31% of the vote, respectively.

Terry Taplin of District 2, incumbent Ben Bartlett of District 3, incumbent Sophie Hahn of District 5 and incumbent Susan Wengraf of District 6 have all been elected to the City Council, as of press time.

Taplin defeated incumbent Cheryl Davila for the District 2 seat by 784 votes, winning 39.35% of the vote, as of press time. His background includes work as a community organizer and service as the vice chair of the city’s Transportation Commission.

Bartlett, Hahn and Wengraf won 69.37%, 76.62% and 72.57% of the vote in their respective districts, as of press time. Deborah Matthews won 23.85% of the vote, Todd Andrew won 18.86% of the vote and Richard Illgen won 26.97% of the vote in Districts 3, 5 and 6, respectively.

Laura Babitt and Ana Vasudeo, with 33.66% and 32.26% of the vote respectively, won the two open seats on the Berkeley Unified School District board, as of press time. Babitt hopes to improve remote learning and create restorative justice systems in education. Vasudeo’s platform supports a similar focus on restorative justice.

Leah Simon-Weisberg, Xavier Johnson, Andy Kelley, Dominique Walker and Mari Mendonca will likely be elected to the Rent Stabilization Board, defeating seven other candidates for the five open seats. Simon-Weisberg is the rent board’s current vice chair and won 13.55% of the vote. Johnson, Kelley, Walker and Mendonca followed with 12.69%, 12.29%, 11.13% and 9.37% of the vote, respectively. Mendonca is closely followed by Bahman Ahmadi, who holds 8.07% of the vote as of press time.

Simon-Weisberg has worked with Arreguín in the past to expand affordable housing in Berkeley, and her experience as a tenant attorney has informed her platform and support for tenants’ rights.

Contact Anishi Patel at [email protected] and follow her on Twitter at @anishipatel.