Halloween is one of the most festive times of the year and what better way to celebrate than stuffing ourselves with sweets and treats? If you’re vegan, it can be difficult finding sweets that fit your dietary restrictions. Luckily, we at the Clog have compiled a helpful guide for finding vegan options among popular candies. Before munching into a candy bar, make sure to look at the ingredients list, paying close attention to any animal ingredients like milk, gelatin, carmine, shellac and eggs. In general, hard candies and fruity chewy candies are your best bet when it comes to mainstream vegan candies.
Sour Patch Kids
These sour treats don’t contain any gelatin or insect-derived food coloring, so all my fellow vegans can munch on these treats without hesitation. Plus, who doesn’t love snacking on these cute little sugar-coated, figurine-shaped chews?
Did anyone else grow up thinking eating smarties made you smart? Well, it sure would be a “smart” choice to opt for these if you don’t want to consume any animal products! These candies come in a roll of colorful fruity flavors and never seem to go out of style.
How can we forget our beloved Jolly Ranchers? These hard candies may stain your tongue neon blue or red, but that’s the consequence of indulging in these flavor-filled jollies. Whether you’re a blueberry or watermelon fan, these suckers are sure to satisfy those sweet and sour cravings without any harm to animals.
Airheads are like taffy’s cooler cousin — they’re so fun to play with and always bring some kind of mystery. These stretchy candies come in a variety of sweet and sour flavors, so you can indulge in both sides of the spectrum without worrying about gelatin or any nonvegan ingredients.
We’ll never know why there are always so many purple skittles and so few greens, but what we do know is that these are vegan-friendly. If you’re spending Halloween night in, grab a bag of these bad boys and make a game out of them by sorting out the colors, while you gobble on them.
For all of my licorice fans, these twisted sticks are vegan and come in several fun sizes and flavors. Celebrate your vegan pride as you Lady-and-the-Tramp these sticks with a loved one, or finish off a variety pack on your own. These candies aren’t going anywhere.
These are just a few Halloween candies that happen to be vegan, that are cheap and accessible. There are so many other surprising vegan candies on the market, and if you are willing to splurge, there are also candies designed specifically for vegans! Do your research, refer to this article or simply check the ingredients list for the vegan Halloween candy green light.